The Good, the Not-so good, and the UGH: Reviews Fantastic Four #588, Incredible Hulks #623, and more!

THE GOOD

Fantastic Four #588– This “final issue,” that is until the new series starts next month. The team (and the superhero community in general) is dealing with the death of the Human Torch. There are actually two stories here. The first story is 99.9% told without dialogue or narration. It’s not exactly new, but when done well, works. And it was done extremely well in this issue. I want to take a moment to compliment the coloring for one reason alone. Just pay attention to Ben Grimm’s eyes throughout the story. They are blood red from all the tears he shed over his buddy’s death. Nice touch. The backup story you may have seen parts of on the internet. It’s Spiderman talking to Franklin about the death of Johnny and that Spidey can related since his uncle was taken from him in violence as well. Very nice job all the way around.

Incredible Hulks #623 – Hulk and the Warbound (not the Hulk family) respond to Ka-Zar’s call for help. Sakaarians who had arrived on with the Hulk have received asylum to live in the Savage Land have been brutally attacked and killed. Won’t spoil the ending for you, but if you are reading this series, it’s not too much of a spoiler, right? Expect a bunch of monsters and creatures battling each other next couple of issues! 

Star Trek: Infestation #2 – There’s pluses and minuses when a mini-series is two issues. The plus is it’s over quick and the minus is…it’s over quick. The story is resolved way too quickly, but had to for the reasons I just said. This probably could have been extended another issue and would have been perfect. As I stated with the first issue, I’m tired of zombies, but this story doesn’t really push the fact that Kirk, Spock, and McCoy are battling zombies. They are fighting a deadly virus. If you are looking for a read and don’t want invest a lot of time (meaning a story arc that is a yearlong), I would recommend this.

Teen Titans # 92 – This is the concluding chapter of the Red Robin/Teen Titans crossover. Our heroes take out the Calculator robots and finally come face-to-face with the man himself…or do they? And Titan fans get their wish, Damian leaves the group and it appears that Tim is back. Quite honestly, that’s a shame. Damian is a pain – I know that. The situation is similar to the JLI days when Guy Gardner was a pain in the butt. No one was screaming to get rid of him!!!! Oh well, lost opportunities because of short-sightedness….

THE NOT-SO GOOD

Secret Avengers #10 – This is the concluding chapter of “Eyes of the Dragon.” Five issues, it took five issues that should have taken four. Sigh. I’m starting to have doubts about this series, I really am. I mean, yay the good guys won and the bad guys lost; Shang-Chi ain’t staying around (boo) and apparently the next issue we’ll learn more about John Steele and his days in WWII with Steve Rogers (Captain America). My problem is NOT every story has to take five issues to be told. Some might take six, others four.

THE UGH

Iron Man 2.0 #1–I guess they named it that because they’re hoping to get people to buy the people who wouldn’t if it had been called War Machine. Yeah, this is Rhodey’s book and I don’t have a problem with that. As to the story, meh. Rhodes is given a chance to redeem himself in the government’s eyes from his time being a part of the Osborn Reign…what??? They’re pissed at him because of actions he did following the orders of a madman that was put in power by the federal government??? Screw the story…I’m out of here!!!!

Remember to watch “The Fellowship of the Geeks,” a comic book talk show…every Monday @ 7:00pm CST (-6 GMT).

http://broadcast.thefellowshipofthegeeks.net/

4 Responses to “The Good, the Not-so good, and the UGH: Reviews Fantastic Four #588, Incredible Hulks #623, and more!”


  1. 1 Reed Solomon February 25, 2011 at 2:10 am

    What are you talking about. Just about everybody was screaming to get rid of Guy Gardner in the JLI days.

    • 2 thomastoc February 25, 2011 at 6:08 pm

      I’m sorry, I was unclear regarding the Gardner situation. It’s true that the other members of the group didn’t want him there. It was obvious if you read the books. I point I was trying to make was the readers weren’t screaming for him to be kicked out. If I’m mistaken on this point as well, please provide some evidence as I don’t recall the backlash.

  2. 3 Reed Solomon February 25, 2011 at 9:22 pm

    well no, why would the readers want to get rid of someone that entertaining. Who wants to read a boring book?

    That said, I’m pretty sure they actually did have occasional comments to the effect of “please get rid of Guy Gardner, we want Hal Jordan” published in the letter columns.

    • 4 thomastoc February 26, 2011 at 12:02 am

      I don’t want a boring book, that’s why I said it’s a shame that he left. However, there are readers out there who don’t like Damian and his arrogance. I see it on the blogs, I hear it in the comic book stores that I shop.

      I do want to take a second and thank you for reading the review. I do appreciate it.


Leave a comment